logo eunis

logo BISE

1. Biogeographical regions

The European Union has nine terrestrial biogeographical regions, each with its own characteristic blend of vegetation, climate and geology. Working at the biogeographical level makes it easier to conserve species and habitat types under similar natural conditions across a suite of countries, irrespective of political and administrative boundaries. The same map is used for the Council of Europe’s Emerald network.

Biogeographical regions: EU 27

The methodology used to create the map is described in the following paper"The indicative Map of European Biogeographical Regions: methodology and development"

The biogeographical map covering the EU 27 terrestrial biogeographical regions can be downloaded from the EEA dataservice here. The spatial boundaries of the biogeographical regions can be downloaded here

Marine regions were created for practical reasons for the Article 17 reporting and they are used also in the assessment of marine Natura 2000 sites during biogeographical seminars and associated bilateral meetings.

Back to Table of Contents